Winter Warm Up – Challenge yourself!

Being your best self is something that takes constant thought and adjustment to adapt to the ever changing world around us.
We at the AWN would like to challenge everyone to set some goals this week as we discuss professional and personal development. Sign up for an online course, learn a new skill or practice public speaking; no matter how big or small the task seems to be, any action toward those goals will not be wasted.
“When you develop yourself to the point where you believe in yourself so strongly that you know you can accomplish anything you put your mind to, your future will be unlimited.” – Unknown.
Reflecting on my own development milestones, I realize that I would not be the person I am without my mom. I am a natural non-joiner, I’d happily spend my time by myself working on the farm or reading. My mom had to push me on the bus to get me to kindergarten, and every 4-H club and camp I’ve ever gone to. I never wanted to go, and then I ended up never wanting to come home either. I always have a great time once I’m out but it takes some motivation to get me there. Some people are extremely introverted and require a lot of energy to do things that extroverts seem to do so easily. We are all so different and will have different ways of approaching personal and professional goals.
Throughout the week I hope that you will join us in sharing your own experiences and goals for development and, as always, we will continue to share and not compare as we are all at different stages of our lives and careers. We hope to hear from everyone: from shy members who have yet to comment on AWN content, to the seasoned public speakers in the group. We are a very diverse group of impressive women and we are looking forward to hearing from you over the week, especially on our Online Networking Social on our Facebook Group Friday, January 13 at 7pm EST, and #AWNChat on Twitter Saturday, January 14 from 11:00 am until noon EST.

Leave a Reply

