Make healthy choices that work for you.

In 2007 I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease. I had been feeling sick and looking ‘swollen’ for about a year and I was tired of it. So, I started to be an advocate for my health and pushed for more tests at the doctor. After an uphill battle, my doctor performed a biopsy on me and the results were conclusive. Shocked by the diagnosis, I knew this was now a diet I would have to adhere to for the rest of my life.  However in 2007 it was challenging to find Gluten/Wheat free solutions as this was prior to the ‘gluten free movement.’  Having to be a constant advocate for your own health can be challenging at times, especially as this disease is now often thought of as a personal choice and therefore not taken seriously.

Definition: Celiac disease is a medical condition in which the absorptive surface of the small intestine is damaged by a substance called gluten. This results in an inability of the body to absorb nutrients: protein, fat, carbohydrates, vitamins and minerals, which are necessary for good health- Canadian Celiac Association

From this definition you can probably assume the effects on the inability to absorb enough nutrients from you diet. I.e. anemia, arthritis, osteoporosis, liver and biliary tract disorders, depression or anxiety, seizures or migraines, infertility or recurrent miscarriage, bowel cancer… the list goes on.

So, when planning for the AWN health week I thought this would be a great opportunity to share a life hack I have come across that helps me to cope with my diet restrictions and also helps me keep a balanced diet in this fast paced, ‘I don’t have time to cook,’ life we live in!

Now this tip I cannot take credit for. My Dad actually introduced me to this app and I am very grateful (Thanks Dad). Yummly– is my new favorite app for meal planning and grocery shopping. Unlike Pinterest where you can just find and save recipes, yummly offers the ability to choose settings and filters that suit your dietary needs, likes/dislikes, allergies to foods etc. AND that is not the best part, you can save recipes to your grocery list! The shopping list is then categorized by the departments at your grocery store- it makes planning so easy.  Even if you do not have an allergy there are settings for Paleo, vegan, sugar free, carb free etc., to help you stick to your goals.  It is so easy and intuitive I strongly suggest trying it out!

Here are some screenshots of the app:

Hope you enjoy this app as much as I do! 

And as a final thought… Be kind to yourself. As women are the hardest on ourselves and our bodies. Make healthy choices that are good for you and your family and don’t feel pressure to cook, eat and workout like the girl next door. Listen to your body and act accordingly!

Christina FitzGibbon

Leave a Reply

