Western Canadian Women -Gabrielle in the Handhills

This post is the second in a series of 3 member profile highlighting Western Canadian Women. Thank you to Jesse Williams for putting this beautiful series together highlighting ranching women in western Canada. If you liked these posts, please check out Jesse’s personal blog

Ranching Lady: Gabrielle Lavoie,  Handhills, AB

herding

Gabrielle checking out her herd in the Hand Hills in eastern-central Alberta

Her Operation:
I run a black angus cow/calf pair operation with my fiancé Tommy and his family out in the Hand Hills of the Special Areas.

How long has she been at it?
I have only been working with cattle for four years now and I love it. I grew up on a hobby farm outside of Cochrane where we had buffalo, horses, chicken and meat rabbits.

Any off farm careers?
I work part-time in Hanna at the Hospital and volunteer with DEMSA and Search and Rescue but the ranch keeps me busy.

What is your favorite thing about living in a rural community?
I love that there is always someones door open that you can go for coffee and have a good BS. Also that help is always there if you need it- that’s the best by far. 

having fun

This photo was captioned by Gabrielle’s future mother-in-law as ‘Having too much fun. They know that if you find a job you love, you never have to work a day in your life. Ranching is that job!’

If you could change one thing about your rural community what would it be?
Nothing! Everything and everyone is amazing. 

What’s one piece of advice you would give other ranching women?
I know everyone says this but it is so true- HOUSE WORK CAN WAIT!! And that your crock pot is your best appliance in the kitchen for our busy lifestyle. 

Any activities you enjoy off farm?
The best way to relax for myself is to go for a run right outside my front door and listen to all the wildlife around me and take in the beauty. I also love going to the city to catch up with my girlfriends and have a good time. 

Why ranching?
How could you do anything else? Plus, I drove into the city just the other day and I couldn’t get out of their fast enough!

Leave a Reply

