Western Canadian Women – Erika Baron

This post is the first in a series of 3 member profile highlighting Western Canadian Women. Thank you to Jesse Williams for putting this beautiful series together highlighting ranching women in western Canada. If you liked these posts, please check out Jesse’s personal blog

By: Jesse Williams

I am beyond excited to introduce you to my amazing sister-in-law Erika. I have known Erika for the majority of my life and even before she was part of the family, I always admired her way with horses and cattle. She is a true blue, born and bred cowgirl with a heart of gold, has the biggest smile and is one heck of a mom to her two beautiful kids. She can swing a rope, tame a horse, doctor a cow and the list goes on and on. I know she has taught my brother a thing or two and I hope I can learn a lot more from her in the future. Meet Erika….

PS. THANK YOU Erika for finally mentioning the ‘flaring’ of emotions that can be felt when a husband and wife work cows together. All the other ladies I interviewed ‘forgot’ to mention this part of ranching, even though we ALL know its true! ūüėČ

erika 4

Erika show the boys a thing or two in the branding corral when it comes to roping calves!

Ranching Lady: Erika Baron -Baron Ranching, Oyen, AB

Her Operation: a small commercial cow/calf operation nestled in the eastern part of Alberta.

How long has she been at it?
I have been ranching since I can remember, but my husband and I just started our own operation three years ago, renting in the south east part of Alberta near Jenner and now we have a place a hundred kilometers northeast near Oyen. I grew up on the family farm/ranch in Jenner. Ranching has been my way of life and passion for a long time and I couldn’t imagine doing anything else.

I am a 4th generation rancher. My family has been in the ranching business for almost 105 years. My great grandparents homesteaded in Jenner where my parents and sister still operate. Cody and I branched off and moved to Oyen where we now run our cows. I am proud to be a fourth generation rancher and am excited to bring up another generation into the ranching community.

Any off farm careers?
I have had a few jobs off the farm, be it with my parents or our operation, but since we expanded our family I have been a stay at home mom/ranch hand. Helping when and where I’m needed. My husband Cody does work off the farm as a farrier (horse shoeing and cattle trimming) so when he is travelling it falls to me and the kids to keep things going, and we really¬†enjoy it.

What is your favorite thing about living in a rural community?
My favorite thing about living in the rural community is the honest lessons and values it teaches our youth. Rural life gives the youth great building blocks for the future like responsibility, accountability and basic life skills. They begin with the chores that ranching offers. Also having the cats, dogs, ponies, calves, chickens, pigs, goats, sheep, whatever it may be. They learn lessons in empathy, responsibility, love and letting go. They get firsthand knowledge and understanding of life and death. And somehow being in a rural environment it teaches most everyone to have respect and be humble.

 erika 3
If you could change one thing about your rural community what would it be?
Johnny won‚Äôt be far behind his mom in ranch skills. This cowboy is tough!¬†I honestly can’t think of anything I would want to change.

What’s one piece of advice you would give other ranching women?
I¬†don’t really have advice. I feel like I’m still learning. But I can share what I have learned so far. Know that when you step out of the house you move your status from “wife” to “hired hand”, using hired hand loosely. You¬†may not be hired but you’re his best¬†hand. Even¬†if its only because you are the only help he has. Don’t take things seriously. If tempers flair in the sorting alley, don’t take it personal and try to go¬†with the flow. I have heard¬†it takes a strong couple to work cows together and¬†end the job¬†successfully. But it surely can be done.

erika 5

Erika and her husband Cody work hand in hand to get things done on their ranch. Here she holds a cow with her rope while Cody treats the animal.

How do you relax? Any activities you enjoy off farm?
If I want to relax I usually get on my horse and go for a ride, or if the kids won’t let me, even just brushing the horses works. I find a strange calming feeling watching a horse eat. I can get swallowed into a trance almost.

Nowadays ranching and kids take up most of my time, so activities off the farm usually include rodeos, jackpots, cow sales, bull sales and visiting with friends.

Why ranching?
I would say I chose ranching because its where I came from and its truly what I love doing. Its who I am and who I always will be. It helps that I found a person as passionate as me to share it with!

 

 

Leave a Reply

